Brian Michael Bendis' Marvel comic Scarlet in development at Cinemax

According to a report over at Deadline, Brian Michael Bendis was on hand at the ATX Television Festival in Austin, where the comic book creator announced that a TV series adaptation of his Marvel/Icon title, Scarlet -- co-created with artist Alex Maleev -- is currently in the works over at HBO offshoot Cinemax. This will mark the first time Marvel and HBO (through Cinemax) will get together for a live-action adaptation of one of their comic book titles. How cool is that?

Speaking of his ongoing comic series, Bendis said, “I do a book called Scarlet, which is soon to be announced also in our universe of television. Not announced yet, but HBO.” Bendis, who co-created Marvel character Jessica Jones, added that the project was “at the earliest stage” but that “the team around it … will be announced as soon as all are on the same page.”

Scarlet was first published in 2010 and follows a young rebellious woman from Portland, Ore., named Scarlet Rue who ends up accidentally starting a second American revolution. Here's a blurb for the comic book:

SCARLET is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world. A woman who decides to stand up and fight back. A woman who will not back down. A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution!! In the vein of Alias, Powers, and Jinx, Scarlet debuts a fascinating new comics character that, with every issue, reveals new things about herself against a completely original backdrop of intrigue and drama.

Bendis said “Scarlet is a list of things you can’t get made. Here’s a female lead who’s killing cops. When it was sold, it was sold to people who were actively looking for that.”

Are you looking forward to seeing Scarlet adapted as a TV series? 


(via Deadline)

More from around the web