X-Files lovers rejoice! Chris Carter's back with new sci-fi series

It's been a decade since The X-Files came to an end, but despite the years in between, there's still a large contingent of fans waiting for the show's mastermind, Chris Carter, to return to the small screen. Now they might finally get their wish.

Carter is developing a new TV series dubbed The After that sounds like one of those "big idea" sci-fi shows ala The Event and Flashforward (though hopefully better).

Here's the description via Deadline:

"[A] thriller which revolves around a mysterious, unexplained event. In the vein of The X Files, The After incorporates elements of science fiction, suspense, and real-world fear and paranoia. "Chris has woven his mythology magic within a very human, grounded story about the moment when we realize all of our worst fears about the world and its future," said Georgeville CEO Marc Rosen, who co-founded the company earlier this year with Leon Clarance of Motion Picture Capital, the financing arm of Reliance Entertainment."
Yes, in case you're wondering, that is a pretty vague synopsis. But it also sounds interesting (and worryingly like The Event), but we all know Carter can make a great series if he's hitting on all cylinders.

This isn't the first time in recent years Carter has taken a shot at returning to TV, as his previous supernatural cop project Unique failed to get a pickup after being shopped around to several networks.

What do you think of Carter coming back to TV? Is there still room for his brand of sci-fi?

(Via Deadline)

More from around the web